Summer Glovin’

One morning recently I was getting ready for a trip. I was lamenting that I didn’t have enough projects to bring. I only had one or two spinning projects. I didn’t really have anything to knit. I was thinking it would be nice to have a pair or socks to start, or maybe a little shawlette or something. Something small and interesting but not too complicated.

As if on cue, my sister called. She had a knitting request.It’s summer and we’ve been having extremely high temperatures combined with high humidity, really unbearable. Why would she have a knitting request? Is she thinking ahead to winter already? Turns out her office’s air conditioner is too small for the space, therefore making the office extremely cold. She dresses for the heat outside but then gets to work and it’s freezing cold.

She has extra sweaters and jackets etc but her hands are always cold, making typing difficult. She needs fingerless gloves!

Image

A quick Ravelry search (where I already have favorited tons of fingerless gloves) and I found these gorgeous Fishtail Wristwarmers. They seemed perfect – a little bit lacy so they’re not too heavy, but solid enough so they provide the warmth she needs. I grabbed the needles and notions and I was set.

I got one glove done in the week I was away. I could have gotten them done faster but I was distracted by my spinning. But they were fast nonetheless. The lace stitch was really easy to memorize.

I really enjoyed the pattern and I think they came out beautifully. I might make them again, but if I make them for myself, I will go up a couple needle sizes. They were quite small and I could hardly get them on (I wanted to check sizing as I made them.) But my sister has tiny hands and wrists, so they fit her perfectly:

Image

Gotta love summer knitting!

This entry was posted in Gloves, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

