Original Toe-Up Socks

I love knitting socks. They’re so cute and fast and fun and everyone loves wearing them.

So when Craftsy had a Christmas sale and my Mom offered to buy me a couple classes (thanks Mom!) I chose Knit Original Toe-Up Socks. I’d been really wanting to do toe-up socks. It makes more sense to me. I like the idea of knitting up until I ran out of yarn, and making a nice long sock and getting the most use out of my yarn.

I spent a lot of time watching the videos and learning the preliminaries to knitting socks. All the nerdy math stuff, which I actually like. Yes, I am one of those knitters. I even started a folder where I keep measurement sheets for important people – my Mom, my sisters, etc, so I always have their foot measurements on hand when I want to make them socks.

I finally wanted to start knitting, and I have this gorgeous soft very fine sock yarn that I’ve been wanting to use. But the toes start with provisional cast-ons, which were new to me. I ended up trying and failing multiple times to start a toe and eventually I started ruining the yarn. It was getting untwisted and frayed.

I was inspired by another Craftsy member who made some cute socks in worsted weight. Why do I always think socks have to be fingering weight? Worsted weight for socks seems fun, and it will be easier to learn the fussy little toe cast-ons with a heavier yarn. I had some worsted weight that I dyed last year. Actually, the orange yarn was the first yarn I ever dyed.

I had this orange and some red. Both had been used for other projects (the red became Thrummed Mittens) and I had leftovers of each. Seemed like a pair of socks was the perfect way to use up the yarn.

In the Craftsy class, the instructor has socks that have been made with a contrasting color for the toe, heel, and cuff. It makes it easier for demonstration because you can clearly see how each part is made. But I really like the way it looks, and I liked the red and orange together, so I designed my own sock with contrasting toe, heel, and cuff.

toe-up socks 2

I really love the result. They are fun and a little funky, and very cozy. I used the moccasin toe and the afterthought heel. I had to figure out some calf increases since they are so long.

I did make a mistake. Even after watching and reviewing the video lessons so much, I forgot a very important step. Calculating negative ease. That’s important because wool is elastic and stretches over time, so you make the sock a little bit smaller than you actually want it so it has room to stretch. It also gives a nice snug fit. So they fit nicely now, but I’m sure that with some wear they will start to stretch and get a bit baggy.

Luckily, they also fit my Mom, and her foot is a bit bigger than mine. So I’m sure if they get too baggy for me she will be happy to take them. Actually, I believe she is anxiously waiting for that to happen. She was my model for the photo and she really loved wearing them, she didn’t want to take them off!

This entry was posted in Knitting, Socks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

